About Us

Kyegegwa District is bordered by Kibaale District to the north, Mubende District to the east, Kiruhura District to the south, Kamwenge District to the south-west, and Kyenjojo District to the north-west. Kyegegwa is approximately 110 kilometres (68 mi), east of Fort Portal, the largest town in the Toro sub-region.

The Current District Chairperson is John Kisoke Byamukama elected for 2016-2021 on NRM ticket. The Resident District Commissioner is Ms. Nyakwera Baguma and the Chief Administrative Officer is Ms. Sanyu Phionah.

The District is made up of  three town councils of Kyegegwa, Mpara and Hapuuyo and seven sub counties of Kyegegwa, Kakabara, Kigambo, Kasule, Ruyonza, Rwentuha and Mpara

Kyegegwa District was created by an act of the Ugandan Parliament, on 1 July 2009. Before then, the district was part of Kyenjojo District. Kyegegwa District is part of the Toro sub-region, which is coterminous with Toro Kingdom.

Production Department

In 1991, the national population census estimated the district population at 63,500. The national census in 2002 estimated the population at 110,900. In 2012, the mid-year population was estimated at 159,800. In 2017, it was estimated at 348,900.

One of the major sources of income of Kyegegwa is markets, mainly the Rwensasi market, located in Ruyonza sub-county, Kyaka South, Kyegegwa district. It is in the southwestern part of the district, 12 km along Kyegegwa-Katonga road.

Rwensasi market is a farmers’ group business [Mpara Farmers Association] initiated by Katuramu George William in 1998. It was formed after the closure of Nyarubabo market in 1992, due to east-coast fever. Rwensasi market contributes 60% of Ruyonza sub county and 40% of Kyegegwa district.